Update: Gettin’ back at it

writing picture

Things have forever changed since my father passed away in October.  It was unexpected, remains an anchor upon my soul, and has made it increasingly difficult to just simply sit down and write.

I have many side projects on the go, some near completion, some just beginning all of which are awesome and exciting and new.  But there is a need to get back to the basics.  That is, to sit and simply write is again a seemingly perpetual impulse.  My mind is wandering as if it is longing to express itself in words.  Time for me to get back at it.

How do you express yourself?  What is the creative impulse of your soul?

p.s. I will be exploring different blog themes within the next couple of days.

8 comments

  1. Robert Martin · January 20, 2014

    Welcome back the the blogosphere, dude!

    • Chris Lenshyn · January 21, 2014

      Heh. Thanks bro. Great to be running with the #MennoNerds again.

  2. thriftshopperforpeace · January 20, 2014

    My dad died the same week as yours (maybe the same day?) and I have found it almost impossible to write creatively. I’ve done a few cursory blogs but my novel hasn’t been touched since early fall. I just feel kinda drained and just the idea of being really creative is exhausting. But I’m encouraged by you. If you can do this and your other side projects, then maybe I just need to get off my keester and to it too. I’m glad you’re back at this.

    • Chris Lenshyn · January 21, 2014

      Ugh. I hear ya. I have been exploring a few different creative mediums, which I am mostly not familiar with… it has been helping. The injection of newness has been particularly refreshing!! Let’s do coffee soon.

  3. Karl Langelotz · January 20, 2014

    I hear you Chris. My dad just died on Sunday morning and I’m struggling finding the words to express my feelings for the funeral.

    • Chris Lenshyn · January 21, 2014

      Standing in solidarity with you & praying for you brother!

  4. Jeff Kuhn · January 23, 2014

    Hey Chris…my dad died 4 years ago, but I remember the feeling. Your heart does get renewed…in fact, it sees things more clearly as time goes on. Good to see you back and writing.

    • Chris Lenshyn · January 23, 2014

      Hey Jeff. Thanks for the words of encouragement and… hope.

Leave a Reply

