Reflections on “40 Days of Writing”

 

The unexamined life is not worth living. – Socrates

Writing 40 out of 46 days had some moments that reminded me of the university grind.  Late nights writing and editing coupled with frustration, procrastination, Dr Pepper, and late night pizza was reminiscent of my university days, though experienced quite differently at 31 (#oldfart).  I thought that sitting in front of a computer hammering out my thoughts and regurgitating them onto the screen would drive me crazy.  But there have been some valuable lessons wrapped within this experience that have screamed at me to pay attention:

Contemplation –  I have learned that it is extremely important to examine life.  To poke at it, prod it with a persistent curiosity.  Needing to post nearly everyday has required me to examine life with consistency.  Surprisingly it has been important for me to articulate these thoughts, otherwise there is a strong possibility that my thoughts could float away into the eternal abyss of nothingness.  The contemplative intentionality forced upon me by blogging has taught me to search for our Trinitarian God in my context.

Connection –   The connections via social networks, blog comments, and over a coffee or beer has reminded me that whether or not we hold similar views need each other.  We need community.  We need to connect.  We need to connect with each other and with God. 

When I embarked on the “40 days of writing” journey, the hope was that this Lenten experiment would draw me closer to the heart of God, while disconnecting me from that which does not give me life.  And it did.  Blogging has introduced me to what an examined life looks like and has given me an opportunity to connect with other folks (A BIG BIG thanks to Jamie) and join the conversation within and beyond the Christian community.   This has been invaluable. 

For these reasons I look forward to writing with regularity starting a week from today.  If you have stopped by ‘anabaptistly’ during this Lenten experiment and we have not yet connected, please connect with me on Facebook, or Twitter and let’s keep the conversation going.  I offer my 2 cents with humility.   

If you are interested below are a few blog post rankings, both by you, and my personal favorites. 

Top 5 viewed posts

1. I jumped on board with the cause to save Matt Puckett.  A man who did not receive a fair trail.  This was the starter of many deep conversations on justice, death, and forgiveness that I am thankful for.  These posts were shared by the many people who cared.  So here are the posts at the heart of this, they rank in first;   #23, #24, #22, #25.

2.  Evangelism is always a sticky topic.  This situation was super awkward. #21

3.  The difference between social justice and charity is an important distinction.  #29

4.  Sorry, the perfect church doesn’t exist.  #6

5.  Super Christian Dance Moves.  A part of me wishes I could dance like this… #38.1

My favorite 5 posts.

1.  The execution of Matt Puckett hit close to home for my wife and I.  My wife’s cousin was murdered in the 80’s. While they were completely disconnected by separate events, this post speaks to the connections between the story of my wife’s family, and the Puckett’s.  #24

2. Belonging is more important to community than one might think.  This post is still getting consistent traffic.  #18

3.  I keep coming across this strong desire for humanity to connect.  I eventually didn’t like the way it was articulated, but this is something I look forward to exploring more.  #9

4.  Parenting is tough.  Seeing my kid have a rough experience was difficult.  Writing helped unpack this experience for me.  I would not have known how much it effected me otherwise.  #5.

5.  Being a registered charity has some interesting consequences.  Churches, more often than not, are registered charities.  The many conversations I had around this post were shocking.  #30

Thank you for all your encouragement, comments, and discussion. 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Top Posts of 2012 « anabaptistly

Leave a Reply

