Thirty Two: The ‘F-You’ Pastor

I am preaching this Sunday at my church.  I would be lying if I told you that their wasn’t a little piece of me that wishes I was able to preach like this.  I don’t know if it would get me in trouble or not, but that is not the point, cause well, I’ll never be able to preach like this anyway.   

While this short little clip may trivialize forgiveness, it certainly points to the messy reality that forgiveness is an essential dynamic of faith.  We are forgiven, so we forgive. 

I love the lady that is giving hi-5’s in the front row near the end of the clip. 

This has been around for a while, and I certainly don’t mean to offend, but I hope you crack a smile with this one. 

10 comments

  1. Brandi Brusven-Roberts · March 29, 2012

    Love it!!!

  2. david cl driedger · March 29, 2012

    I don’t think the clip trivializes forgiveness. What I am curious about (and cannot speak to) is the element of race in America that contextualizes the piece. I don’t think forgiveness is about discriminated minorities just ‘rolling over’ on injustice so should ‘f-you’ contain both connotations to make it appropriate in this context? Is that why it is so well received? I don’t know . . . should I even be talking about this!?

    • chris lenshyn · March 29, 2012

      David,

      I would sure hope that forgiveness doesn’t assume people roll over and forgive without any element of justice… I am also curious about the context, alas I am not sure if we should talk about this either!?!

      • david cl driedger · March 29, 2012

        I have to say that I am saddened that oblique Seinfeld references have less and less traction in our contemporary culture . . . what a world we live in.
        (of course I am assuming you caught it)
        Just reminded me of blank stares after making a Seinfeld reference to a youth group.

  3. chris lenshyn · March 29, 2012

    Lol. David. I was never the biggest Seinfeld fan, but I did manage to catch it! I’ve been dropping 90’s pop culture references for years with blank expressions looking right back at me. But I have decided it is worth it anyway!!

  4. goodfridayblues · March 29, 2012

    well. i think that was f-ing awesome.

  5. Betty Rempel · March 29, 2012

    Chris, my dear, spelling!

    • chris lenshyn · March 29, 2012

      Nooo. I spell checked and everything… oh well. 😉

Leave a Reply

