Seven: To Follow is to Lead?

“If you really care about starting a movement have the courage to follow and show others how to follow.”

– Derek Sivers

Watch this video.  If you have seen it already, watch it again.  It is quickly becoming a classic.  In 3 minutes Derek Sivers gives us the key to starting a movement.  It may not come from where you think.

When I watch this video my mind becomes saturated with the sheer boldness of the first followers of Jesus.  I’m reminded of biblical legends John the Baptist and the apostle Paul.  They followed.  I think of our world today, of those who follow Jesus into the dirty places and spaces wherein nobody else dare set foot.  Imagine how much momentum could be gained by being courageous in who we choose to follow.  A movement doesn’t depend on the ‘lone nut’ rather it is indebted to the first follower(s).  This idea turns leadership on its head and says that to lead is to follow.

This video poses a question,among many; do you dare follow?

Jesus called out to them, “come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people.” And they left their nets at once and followed him.

– Matthew 4:19,20

4 comments

  1. Karl Langelotz · February 29, 2012

    Great thought Chris. I’m amazed how you find the time to come up with not just the thoughts, but also the videos (or perhaps the videos come first??)

    • chris lenshyn · February 29, 2012

      Hey thanks Karl. The first time I saw this was at a Leonard Sweet workshop on something that I can’t remember… but this video definitely stood out.

      It’s been a good Lent thing to do. I’ve given up other things that take up my time like the endless amounts of sports I could watch, or PS3 I could play… It’s been astonishing how much time that was actually taking up. 7 down 33 more to go. 😉

  2. Pingback: Ten.Two: Stuart Murray on Strengths of Anabaptism « anabaptistly
  3. Pingback: Thirteen: “Kony 2012″ Compelled to Connect Pt4 « anabaptistly

Leave a Reply

